Undergraduate Programs in Biology

The Department of Biology at the University of Miami offers an undergraduate education at the cutting edge of our discipline that produces young scientists and citizens who understand the scope and perspective of modern biology. Our students receive excellent preparation for advanced work in the sciences, for professional careers in health, law, and policy, and to be informed citizens in a society increasingly dependent on modern science and technology.  We offer a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degree, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree, and a Biology minor.  Information on degree requirements and coursework is in the Academic Bulletin.

The Honors in Biology program gives the opportunity to do original research in an area of your choice, working closely with a faculty member. You will also have an opportunity to discuss your research with other students by participating in honors seminars.  Applications to the Honors program are due in the fall semester, for graduation in the following spring semester. More information on Honors in Biology can be found on the honors page or in the Academic Bulletin.


Announcements

Save the date!

  • Friday, Aug. 16th, 9:30am-noon, Cox 126.  Orientation and welcome reception for incoming biology majors.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 21st, 4:45-5:30pm, Cox 217.  Information session on Honors in Biology.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 21st, 8pm, Shalala Activities Room North.  Welcome meeting for Beta Beta Beta, the biology honors society.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 9th, 5pm, Cox 217 Applying to graduate school Q&A.
  • Tuesday, Dec. 3rd.  Applications due for the Honors in Biology program for graduation in Spring, 2020.
  • Biology electives in Spring 2020

Useful Contacts

Director of Undergrad Studies in Biology Dr. Whitlock b.whitlock@miami.edu
Biology advisors Paul Bongarzone, Jennifer Delgado, and Jerlissa Rivas
Office of Pre-Health Advising www.prehealth.miami.edu
HHMI labs Dr. Gaines m.gaines@miami.edu
PRISM Dr. Wilson jnwilson@miami.edu
Transfer credits and course equivalencies Dr. Mallery cmallery@miami.edu
Honors in Biology Dr. DiResta diresta@miami.edu
Office of Undergraduate Research and Community Engagement
Beta Beta Beta umiamibbb@gmail.com
UGalapagos semester abroad program Dr. Sealey ksealey@miami.edu 
Five-year masters program Dr. Baker j.baker2@miami.edu